top of page
  • Daniel Hooker

Five Catamounts Named 2023 CSC Academic All-District

Western Carolina landed five players on the 2023 College Sports Communicators (CSC) Academic All-District® teams announced on Tuesday (Dec. 19). Graduate students in DL Marlon Alexander, TE Clayton Bardall, and PK Richard McCollum were joined by redshirt junior LS Colby Cross and junior LB Giovanni Ricciardi to receive this year’s honor.


It’s also the second-straight year that WCU landed a program-best five on the Academic All-District team, the second year under the new parameters where all qualifying nominees earn the all-district plaudits. WCU previously earned three all-district honors in both the 2012 and 2015 seasons.


Three Catamounts – Alexander, Bardall, and McCollum – each collected the academic all-district honor for a second-consecutive season.


Each of WCU’s five student-athletes were also selected as CSC Academic All-America® finalists and will advance to the national ballot to be voted on by CSC members. WCU has had four student-athletes earn All-America honors all-time: Mike Wade (1975, 1976); Eddie Maddox (1984, 1985); Jason Whaley (2003); and Darius Ramsey (2014).

Alexander, Bardall, and McCollum were also each named to the 2023 NFF Hampshire Honor Society a year ago. McCollum was also nominated for this year’s William V. Campbell Trophy which is awarded by the National Football Foundation (NFF) to the college football player with the best combination of academics, community service, and on-field performance.

The 2023 Academic All-District® Football teams, selected by College Sports Communicators (CSC), recognize the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom. The CSC Academic All-America® program separately recognizes football honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, and NAIA.


First-, second- and third-team Academic All-America® honorees will be announced Jan. 23, 2024. The Division II and III CSC Academic All-America® programs are financially supported in part by the NCAA Division II and III national governance structures to assist CSC with handling the awards fulfillment aspects for the 2023-24 Divisions II and III Academic All-America® programs. The NAIA CSC Academic All-America® program is financially supported in part through the NAIA governance structure.


For more information about the CSC Academic All-District® and Academic All-America® Teams program, visit


Western Carolina's All-Time Academic All-District Selections:

1975: Mike Wade, LB1976: Mike Wade, LB

1984: Eddie Maddox, RB

1985: Eddie Maddox, RB1

992: Thomas Jackson, OL

1993: Thomas Jackson, OL1994: Chad Greene, QB

1995: Chad Greene, QB

2000: Caesar Campana, WR

2001: Pablo Abraham, DE; Jason Whaley, OL

2002: Jason Whaley, OL

2003: Jason Whaley, OL

2012: Conner Orr, TE; Clark Sechrest, P; Rock Williams, LB

2014: Darius Ramsey, RB; Richard Sigmon, PK

2015: Derrick Davis, DT; Darius Ramsey, RB; Daniel Riddle, LB

2016: Andrew Mayton, DE; A.J. Newman, LB

2017: A.J. Newman, LB

2022: Marlon Alexander, DL; Clayton Bardall, TE; Brandon Dickerson, P; Richard McCollum, PK; Micah Nelson, DE2023: Marlon Alexander, DL; Clayton Bardall, TE; Colby Cross, LS; Richard McCollum, PK; Giovanni Ricciardi, LB

0 views0 comments
bottom of page