top of page
  • Writer's picture389country

Gary Appointed to the NCAA D-I Women’s Basketball Committee

By: Daniel Hooker

Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations

Western Carolina Director of Athletics Alex Gary has been appointed to the 2022-23 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee, organization officials have announced. While his official appointment begins on Sept. 1, 2022, Gary attended the committee’s summer meeting in July to plan for the 2022-23 championship. His term on the committee runs through Aug. 31, 2027.

“The game of women’s basketball is in an exciting growth period that I am thrilled to be part of,” said Gary. “I look forward to representing Western Carolina University and the Southern Conference as a member of this important committee.”

The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee expanded to 12 members in 2021-22 and includes one member selected from each of the five autonomy conferences and three members selected from the seven highest-ranked non-autonomy conferences based on basketball success. The remaining four members are selected from the 20 other NCAA conferences.

Gary is joined on the committee by the chair, Beth Goetz (Ball State, MAC), vice chair Lisa Peterson (Oregon, Pac-12), and members Deneé Barracato (Northwestern, Big Ten), Jenny Bramer (San Diego State, Mountain West), Amanda Braun (Milwaukee, Horizon), Jill Bodensteiner (Saint Joseph’s, Atlantic 10), Derita Dawkins (Arkansas, SEC), Lizzie Gomez (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Southland), Jill Shields (Kansas State, Big 12), Todd Stansbury (Georgia Tech, ACC) and Lynn Tighe (Villanova, Big East).

A former Catamount baseball student-athlete, Gary was also appointed this year to the NCAA Baseball Rules Committee. His four-year term on that committee begins on Sept. 1, 2022, and continues through Aug. 31, 2026.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page