top of page
  • 1440 Daily Digest

Texas Toasts

The Texas Rangers won baseball's World Series last night, beating the Arizona Diamondbacks by a score of 5-0 to close out the series in five games. The Rangers overcame a six-inning no-hitter by Arizona pitcher Zac Gallen.

The title win ends decades of suffering for Rangers fans. Founded in 1961, Texas was the oldest franchise to have never won a World Series and owned the second-longest championship drought behind the Cleveland Guardians.

The win came despite losing star slugger Adolis Garcia. The outfielder, who nabbed MVP honors in the previous series and ended Game 1 against Arizona with a walk-off home run (see video), suffered an oblique strain during Game 3.

Rangers infielder Corey Seager was named World Series MVP. He becomes just the third player behind legends Sandy Koufax and Reggie Jackson to be awarded the honor twice (Seager won the honor in 2020 with the Los Angeles Dodgers).

See the end game celebration here.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page